As the page turns

Wow. I can’t believe how quickly things are coming together. We’ve been here for two weeks now and are settling in nicely in our new home. My son has made friends with a boy across the street, and they spend hours together playing D&D. It’s been ages since my son had a kid his age he could hang out with, so this has made the change all the easier on both of us.

Schools starts for both of us on Tuesday. I’ve had to come up to campus every day this week for various orientation sessions and meetings. My feet are killing me, mostly from walking to or from the bus stop and then waiting around for the bus to come (only one of the various places I go to catch a bus have anyplace to sit while waiting). I’ve applied for a parking sticker, and as a TA I’m guaranteed one, but I haven’t been able to get to the parking office to pick it up.

I’m very nervous about my TA assignment, which will involve leading 2 weekly discussion groups for a class not in my major field. I hope my age will give me a slight edge — unlike most TAs, I am old enough to be a parent of most, if not all, of my students.

This weekend, while driving back from a weekend spent at my dad’s, a story idea came to me. I’m still mulling it over, letting it ferment, but I hope to put it down on paper soon. Maybe this weekend will be a good time to set up my writing desk.

About Laura

Former single parent adjusting to an empty nest, moving back in with my parents, and returning to the workforce. Student of medieval history, fandom dabbler, and perspiring writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

