Bruce Wayne, please call off your minions

Our house has been invaded by bats (okay, one bat) for the 2nd time this summer. Second time in less than a month, in fact. Unlike our previous wee intruder, this one is quite large, and is currently trapped in my bedroom while I wait for Animal Control to open for business at 8. It’s now a little after 3 a.m. and I am wearing only my nightgown and undies. I don’t even have a robe to put on.

It’s only by chance I even became aware of the bat – I’d been unable to sleep, and so had turned on my bedside lamp to do a little reading (actually, I was looking up plumber’s snakes on my Palm, because it’s clear the basement shower drain isn’t responding to more low-key clog-clearing efforts); furthermore, I’d gone to bed with my bedroom door open so the dog, who’d come home from the kennel Sunday evening, could sleep with me if she wished. Next thing I know there’s this great black flapping thing (I think I’ll name it Snape) swooping around me. As one might expect when the sanctuary of one’s bedroom is invaded by a large flying creature (I think its wingspan was around 10″) at 3 a.m., I screamed and ran out as fast as I could while crouching at the same time, and slammed the door behind me.

Things should get really interesting in about 4 hours, when my alarm goes off.

About Laura

Former single parent adjusting to an empty nest, moving back in with my parents, and returning to the workforce. Student of medieval history, fandom dabbler, and perspiring writer.
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bruce Wayne, please call off your minions

  1. It’s actually a cool and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you simply shared this useful
    info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

