Here we are again

Goodness, it’s been a while. I seem to have this habit of only posting here during the late summer and fall. Perhaps, now that I’m through with grad school (for the next few years, at least), I can break myself of that habit.

We finished the manuscript catalogue project in early March and sent it to Dr. E for editing and the writing of an introduction. I was asked to do a little extra background research for the introduction, but apart from that I spent most of the last 2 months of my assistantship doing odd jobs around the library or, towards the end, writing my thesis.

In early June I got the go-ahead to distribute my thesis to my committee. My defense was held in mid-July, and despite some reservations Dr. B had about my methodology (he found it theoretically sophisticated but practically flawed) – exacerbated by the fact that he just happened to have spent the past 2 years researching and writing a book on a subject dangerously close to my topic – my thesis was approved with only a few minor requested changes. I couldn’t get it turned in to the Grad College in time for August graduation, however, so I had to postpone until December.

Two weeks after my defense we moved (back) to southwestern Virginia, which is where we’ll stay at least until my son leaves for college. My search for a job teaching high school history was unfortunately unsuccessful, so once school starts (and we’re on a regular schedule again) I’ll be trying to find gainful employment pretty much anywhere I can. Lack of income notwithstanding, we’re glad to be back on familiar ground, and he’ll be returning to the same school he attended when we lived here before, which should make the transition less traumatic than when he’s had to start over from scratch.

The best part about moving back here is where we’re living: a converted grist mill originally built in 1822, surrounded by mountains and pastures on all sides, with a creek and the Jefferson National Forest all within a mile’s walk. One of the neighbors reported seeing a mama bear and her cub less than a quarter-mile away last month. We hear more from the cows than we do from vehicular traffic, and at night it gets amazingly dark. The place is rather remote – it’s a 20-minute drive to get anywhere (grocery store, gas station, etc.), but the place has such character. It’s even a registered landmark with a roadside historical marker, which I’d love to post a photo of except it would reveal exactly where we live. I love it.

I’d like to write a bit about some writing projects I have going on, or plan to have going on, but I think I’ll save that for a later post.

About Laura

Former single parent adjusting to an empty nest, moving back in with my parents, and returning to the workforce. Student of medieval history, fandom dabbler, and perspiring writer.
This entry was posted in Family, Mill Living, Research, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

