I know I left them somewhere around here

I really need to be more industrious about sketching out story ideas when they come to me, either as a rough outline or a few sentences summarizing the idea. I’ve got 3 stories-in-progress sitting on my hard drive that I started a few weeks ago during a burst of creativity, then interrupted for one reason or another.  They’re good beginnings – for first drafts, at least – but I can’t for the life of me recall where they were headed when I first started writing them. One cannot build a portfolio on good beginnings. Follow-through and equally good (if not better) finishes are crucial as well.

I also need to review the folder of articles I downloaded from JSTOR this spring. In addition to story ideas, I’ve got a few possible journal article topics that came to me while I was working on the manuscript catalogue that I should follow up on, to see if they can be turned into something worthwhile. Even though I’m no longer in academia doesn’t mean I should put it all behind me; I put far too much brain sweat equity into the past 3 years for that.

About Laura

Former single parent adjusting to an empty nest, moving back in with my parents, and returning to the workforce. Student of medieval history, fandom dabbler, and perspiring writer.
This entry was posted in Research, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

