Need Brain Food

Now that I can no longer use grad school as an excuse not to post here very often and because I’m trying to develop the habit of writing every day, I’ve been trying to come up with topics to write about.

For example, the state of social studies curricula in American high schools, inspired by my disappointment at realizing that my son’s school stops teaching pre-1500 history in the 8th grade. On a less serious note, a recent post on Dear Author has had me wondering about the possibility of writing steampunk within a medieval setting, and how that could be accomplished. I also want to respond to the discussion on DA about content and method of delivery in relation to e-books vs. print. Finally, perhaps, a brief review of Rosemary Rowe’s A Pattern of Blood that ties in to Magistra et Mater‘s excellent discussion of the problems with reading historical fiction when you’re an expert in that particular time period.

However, I forgot to eat breakfast this morning, and after tinkering with my blog layout I can’t really think in complete, coherent sentences anymore, so I will postpone those topics for another day and close with this vid, and then scrounge up something to eat:

About Laura

Former single parent adjusting to an empty nest, moving back in with my parents, and returning to the workforce. Student of medieval history, fandom dabbler, and perspiring writer.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

