NaNoWriMo 2009

As may be apparent from the additions to my left-sidebar, I’ve decided to take part in NaNoWriMo this year. It’s the first time I’ve done NaNo since 2005 and the 3rd overall, though I didn’t reach the magic 50,000 in previous years.

Without grad school (or a job *cough*) to keep me busy, I’m hopeful I’ll be more successful this year. I’m sure it’ll help that I’m actually doing some advance planning this time, rather than starting off on November 1 with a vague story idea and then just waiting to see what unfolds. After polling my LiveJournal friends with several scenarios I’d come up with, I settled on a murder mystery with a little bit of historical fiction mixed in (the two are linked by a manuscript written in the 12th century – the mystery is set in the modern era, while the historical bits will reveal the story of the manuscript’s creation). I’ve spent the past couple of weeks developing profiles for my three lead characters which in turn has helped clarify some aspects of the plot; now I’m trying to iron out an outline for the story itself.

I’ll post about my progress here throughout November. Here’s to 50K!

About Laura

Former single parent adjusting to an empty nest, moving back in with my parents, and returning to the workforce. Student of medieval history, fandom dabbler, and perspiring writer.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

