Changing times

It’s the peak of the fall leaf-changing season, and the mountains around us are a riot of color. This morning they seemed especially brilliant thanks to a combination of dark, rain-laden clouds broken by patches of bright, warm light (it’s in the mid-70s today, typical Indian Summer warmth for late October). The sugar maples, always my favorites, look like they could light up the Las Vegas strip.

I took my camera with me when I took the dog out for a walk, to try to capture some of the color and the character of this place. I’m one of those stubborn holdouts who has yet to invest in a digital camera, however, so I won’t be able to post any pictures until after I’ve had the roll developed. In the meantime, here’s a picture of the Blue Ridge Parkway in fall snagged from Google:

Blue Ridge Parkway in Fall

Blue Ridge Parkway in Fall

In other news from the Mill, an old camp up the road a piece was put up for auction last weekend. I was worried some developer would buy the land with the goal of converting it into a gated community with overpriced McMansions, but fortunately that didn’t happen. According to the local paper, the buyer was a woman who has a horse farm in eastern Virginia and plans to move her horses here, then fix up the site for hunters to use in winter and, in time, re-open the camp. I really hope she succeeds – not only does it continue using the land as it had been, it may also provide my son with an excellent summer job opportunity, as he’s often expressed an interest in being a camp counselor. The place is close enough that he wouldn’t even have to worry about having a driver’s license.

About Laura

Former single parent adjusting to an empty nest, moving back in with my parents, and returning to the workforce. Student of medieval history, fandom dabbler, and perspiring writer.
This entry was posted in Family, Mill Living and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

